Roast Pigeons and Homemade Beer – Ancient Egypt

Ay and Tey in tomb 25 in Amarna receiving rewa...

Ay and Tey receiving rewards from Ikhnaton and Nefertiti.   Tombs of the Nobels, Amarna.  Source: Lepsius: Denkmahler

Beer and pigeons were beloved items in feasts in ancient Egypt.  Here are a few pictures showing them.

A BBQ at Amarna, palace of Akhenaton and Nefertiti. eating roasted pigeons (far left, and Nefertiti is handing a pigeon to her little girl) and brochettes. Their children are on chairs and the servants are standing. Source: Tombs of the Nobles, El Amarna…

Roasted pigeons today don’t look much different in Egypt. Source Schmitt

Man (possibly Assyrian dignitary – but in Egypt) being assisted to drink beer with a straw.  Source: unknown.

Beer jugs ready to be served, on the left. The straw is the same as the one shown in the above picture. This is a kitchen scene, Tombs of the Nobles – El Amarna
About dianabuja

With a group of BaTwa (pygmy) women potters, with whom we've worked to enhance production and sales of their wonderful pots - fantastic for cooking and serving. To see the 2 blogs on this work enter 'batwa pots' into the search engine located just above this picture. Blog entries throughout this site are about Africa, as well as about the Middle East and life in general - reflecting over 35 years of work and research in Africa and the Middle East – Come and join me!
This entry was posted in Beer, Cuisine, Egypt-Ancient, Food, History-Ancient and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Roast Pigeons and Homemade Beer – Ancient Egypt

  1. Adorinda Carvalho says:

    I would like to use the image of the pharaoh family eating pigeons in a book I am writing about pigeon houses. Will you allow me? Please answer me to my mail.
    Best regards

    Like

  2. I’ll always remember eing invited to the Heliopolis home of an Egyptian military officer I’d known in DC. He invited me to dinner and when he picked me up at my hotel was visibly nervous: his wife had prepared pigeon. I assured him I’d had pigeon before, but he was horrified that an American would reject pigeon. It was fine.

    No beer though: he was a good Muslim. I’m sure I stopped somewhere for one before or after, though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

