Gift of a Belgian Malinois Puppy

I’m very thrilled to have been given a Belgian Malinois puppy last week!  Several years ago, as some of you may remember, I did have a dog of the same breed – Hamdy by name; given to me by a Belgian who lives in the eastern Congo. Fantastic guard for me and for the goats:

Some of our goats going upcountry.

Some of our goats going upcountry.

Hamdy checking out the goats that are leaving; great guard, Hamdy.

Hamdy checking out the goats that are leaving; great guard, Hamdy.

Looks like Hamdy is counting the leaving stock.

Looks like Hamdy is counting the leaving stock.

But Hamdy could be so kind and loving - here, talking to me.

But Hamdy could be so kind and loving – here, ‘talking’ to me.

My new pup is also called Hamdy – named after H.1 who finally died.  Hamdy 2 is a lovely little puppy and quite stroppy; looks a bit like this pup –

belgian-malinois-puppy-picture-115daca2-483a-4a83-9bac-free-stock-illustration

belgian-malinois-puppy-picture-1-free-stock-illustration

Here are a couple of hunky videos on the breed – they really are quite fierce if left to their own devices; great guards and equally great companions:

About dianabuja

With a group of BaTwa (pygmy) women potters, with whom we've worked to enhance production and sales of their wonderful pots - fantastic for cooking and serving. To see the 2 blogs on this work enter 'batwa pots' into the search engine located just above this picture. Blog entries throughout this site are about Africa, as well as about the Middle East and life in general - reflecting over 35 years of work and research in Africa and the Middle East – Come and join me!
This entry was posted in Dogs, Living here, War Games and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gift of a Belgian Malinois Puppy

  1. dianabuja says:

    Thanks, Rita; he is such a joy and so intelligent – wishing dogs would live longer; but I think you should get another puppy!

    Like

  2. Lovely, enjoy. My dog gives me such pleasure.

    Liked by 1 person

    • dianabuja says:

      yes, already this clever little lad knows to do his business outside {which he does by going JUST out of the door} – And he already knows “NO”; how to play with Bebe the cat; etc.

      Like

  3. ritaroberts says:

    Puppies are so sweet Diana and grow to be wonderful loving companions. As you know in my last post there was a picture of my sweet Ben whom we lost last year. I am tempted to have another dog but can’t bear the thought of the heartache again when losing them. But I guess in your case a guard dog is good for you. Also may I say your goats look really healthy. Great post Thank you !!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

